Everything ready for ALA

I am very fortunate to have this awesome grant that not only helps for my library school tuition, but has some perks that allow me to attend professional conferences for free.  Last fall, I went to the Georgia Library Association COMO conference in Columbus, and that was fun.  It was lively, but not too overwhelming. But in June, I will be attending ALA’s annual conference, in Washington, DC.  ALA – American Library Association – is the big kahuna. It is going to be craaa-zyyy.

I am really excited about it. First off, I get to stay in a nice hotel near the convention center. Plus, my dad and a couple of good friends live in the area, so I hope I will get a chance to visit with them (in between attending conferences). I plan on going to a few panels, as well as “trick-or-treating”  – I mean- browsing  in the exhibit halls.  While networking and learning about the new technologies in the field is nice, so is picking up a few pens, notepads, pieces of candy, etc.  Mainly, I hope to visit with some recruiters. Thus, I will come armed with many copies of my resume….something to dump in their trick-or-treat bags :).

Since it is a large conference, I will have to be choosy about what I can attend. Luckily, ALA has some stuff specifically for new members, so I may go to a couple of those meetings. I am particularly interested in those that have to do with digital libraries, and how libraries utilize technology (such as Web 2.0, databases, etc).  I have been learning a lot about technology in my concentration, but when I finish my MLIS, I would like to pursue some programming courses.  It can never hurt to know more about computing and technology!

Leave a Reply

